Snowbound!

Monday the weathermen were calling for heavy snow in North Carolina. I have never seen more than an inch or two of snow, so I dismissed it with a snort and went about my business the next couple of days. After my college classes Wednesday afternoon, the snow began to come down. Mom and I went to the store to buy a few things and the shelves were completely empty of bread, and there was a little milk left. We’ve had snow scares before. Everybody rushes to the store to grab their necessities and then nothing ever happens. 

It continued to snow hard all day. By the time I went to bed last night, I would say we got 6-8 inches of snow. This morning it was sleeting, but turned back to snow an hour after I woke up. We now have a little over 12 inches of snow. Feeling the Cabin Fever settling in, we all decided that we’d try going for a little ride to get out of the house. The roads around our house haven’t been touched!! We couldn’t even see the road! We didn’t make it very far until we were stuck in a ditch. It took forever, but we got out of there. At one point I was sure we’d flip. If it had not been for God protecting us and four wheel drive, we would have been out of luck! 

I think I’ve had enough adventure for today. I’ll sit here and enjoy the warmth and comfort of our house, maybe read a book, and keep coffee made. The snow is beautiful, and I am very happy to see as much as we have gotten, but I’m now ready to see it go. 

3 thoughts on “Snowbound!

  1. Sooner or later I’ll be back for a visit. By the way, I’ve seen on the news that Hurricane Arthur is set to hit North Carolina tomorrow – don’t know if it’s skirting the coast or will be making it’s way inland, but whatever it does, stay safe!

  2. I’m originally from North Carolina (Matthews, near Charlotte), but haven’t been there for well over a year. I didn’t know you all had that much snow this past winter. But like you, I was ready to see it melt away.

    You must be from a bit further south if you’d never seen more than an inch or two at a time. Thanks for posting a taste of home; it’s much appreciated!

    • Oh my goodness, it is good to hear from someone who is from the same state! I do live a bit further south from Charlotte so you can understand what I mean. I always thought I wanted to visit Buffalo, New York during the winter when all the snow is coming in. No more! I know many people in Virginia and West Virginia, and they got a lot more snow than we did!

      Maybe you’ll be able to come back to North Carolina again. I’m proud to call this state my home. I don’t know if I’d be able to live anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

