My thoughts on feminism

In Western Civ class today, our instructor opened discussion by asking each of us if we were feminist and why or why not. As always, I freeze when my name is called. I told him I agreed with the girl who previously spoke before me in attempt to get out of speaking, but it didn’t turn out that way. So I made a poor attempt at providing an example. As he moved on to the next person, I mentally kicked myself as my thoughts on feminism came flooding back to me, and I assured myself that I’d share my opinion on this blog. 

I am not a feminist. I agree that women should have the choice of whether they become a full time stay at home mom, or go out in the workforce and become successful in their career of choice. I do not believe either gender is strictly limited to certain roles, but I also don’t believe women should go out to do any job, just to practice her right to have a choice in the matter. There are some things women should not be allowed to do because in all honesty, their bodies are not built for the task.

 According to a book I use (and I’m paraphrasing), In the viewpoint of a functionalist, sex determines which roles men and women are best suited to do. Men are best suited to play instrumental roles such as being task oriented and being the authority figure. They are believed to be more logical, making them best at occupations such as lawyers. Females are best suited to play expressive roles such as providing emotional support and nurturing to not only children, but to their partner who has to face the stresses of the competitive world. Since women are believed to be more nurturing and emotional, they are also believed to make the best nurses and teachers of young children.

I agree more with the view point of a functionalist. Men and women both were created with their own strengths emotionally and physically, which makes them more successful in certain occupations, but that does not mean they should be limited to going into a certain occupation. Women are just as intelligent as men and are therefore just as able to become successful as a lawyer or doctor. Men can be just as good at cooking and cleaning as women can, and it is proven every day. It is the viewpoint that women belong in the kitchen and men belong in front of the television with a newspaper after a hard day of work that keeps them from doing those tasks. Intelligence is not granted to a certain gender, but to those who study and become knowledgeable in whatever they’re interested in.

There are, however, certain things that absolutely belong to males rather than females. One great example is provided in the Bible. Women are to be silent in church, and are not to be the head of a church or take any kind of authoritative role inside the church. According to 1 Corinthians 14:33-35, “33 For God is not a God of confusion but of peace. As in all the churches of the saints, 34 the women should keep silent in the churches. For they are not permitted to speak, but should be in submission, as the Law also says. 35 If there is anything they desire to learn, let them ask their husbands at home. For it is shameful for a woman to speak in church.

Women can lead their children in the right direction and keep them biblically sound as well as serve as a light in the world, but they cannot lead the church. Other than that one definite rule, women, I believe, can do anything they are mentally and physically able to do.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on feminism

Leave a Reply

